I wish I could be

I wish I could have been there.

I wish I could have seen the look on her face when you smiled at her after she moved onto the desk next to yours. How you observed her every move, breath, change in her perfume day in and day out. I wish I could be her.

When she moves, you move; and when she opens her rouge stained lips, you respond as if she’d been talking to you the whole time. You bring warm coffee to her table every morning- the fresh blend of Guatemalan coffee beans and the sour taste it gives her when the liquid touches her tongue. You like the look of her slender body, polished skin and the silks she encloses her temple in.

And I wish I could be her

no more.

I want to be independent, rise and fall at your own accord but I will be there to help you to get to where you want to be. Move at your own pace just as gravity decided the path of the planets on its own. Breathe with me but not for me.

I wish to be the woman who you can wake up to, not for. Forget about silks, and let me have the baggy clothes that I find comfort in most because they touch your skin everyday. If I fall out of shape and my skin no longer glows with youth, love me no less.

I wish I could be the woman that you love indefinitely.

 

 

Leave a Reply

